Hellos and Goodbyes

Dear Readers,

Life is full of hellos and goodbyes. A few weeks ago I said more goodbyes than hellos. I said goodbyes before, but they did not leave me feeling so sad. I miss the familiar faces of my colleagues, supervisors, co-workers, and students. During my last days, the reality of not seeing these familiar faces anymore soaked in. What hurt me most was the thought that I will miss them more than they will of me. To them, I may just be another person. One of my students hugged me on his last day, and that assured me that was not entirely true.

These past couple weeks I said more hellos than goodbyes. Sadly, some of these hellos are those hellos where you get acquainted with each other for 2-3 seconds and then forget each other’s names and never interact again. On the other hand, when you continue to interact, these hellos become the start of new friendships. Although a small part of me miss all the people I have said goodbyes to a few weeks ago, I will not grow as a person if I do not distance myself from the old and familiar and welcome new and unfamiliar territory of my life.

If any of you readers have any school-related or life-related questions, please let me know!

Until next time, make good choices and live a healthy lifestyle.

Catherine D.

Leave a Reply

