Stop and Smell the Roses

Dear Readers,

After several weeks of busyness, I finally have a week break! It’s strange to go from constantly doing what seems like something every hour of the day to doing what seems like nothing every hour of the day. I am not used to the quietness and doing absolutely nothing. During that one week break, my mom took me out to eat a lot in hopes of helping me gain weight. I also got to eat some of mom’s homemade food, so that was nice.

The one week flew by so fast. Before life gets busy, I made it my mission to cook rather than heat up one of those microwavable dinners. The day I got back from break I cooked tomato rice soup, one of the soups my mom used to cook me. Surprisingly, it tasted like her soup!

I was told I have “blinders” on when I work on something. That is, I am so focused I lose sight of my surroundings. The one week break reminded me that it is okay to be unproductive. I do not have to constantly do something. The quietness is pleasant. There’s no need to fill it with noise. My advice for all you workaholics like me: Stop and Smell the Roses. Relax! Take a little bit time out of your busy schedule and do what you enjoy. Don’t let the quietness bother you. It’s actually a beautiful part of life that we mistake as a void or being unproductive.

If any of you readers have any school-related or life-related questions, please let me know!

Until next time, make good choices and live a healthy lifestyle.

Catherine D.

Leave a Reply

