Need vs. Want

Dear Readers,

It has been a long time since I’ve updated you on what’s going on with my life.  To be honest, not much has happened.

1) I’ve tried to apply to places to volunteer short term to gain new hands-on experience and clinical knowledge, but I have not had any luck.  I was surprised to get a rejection voice message. It was nice that the volunteer coordinator took the time to call instead of sending me a generic rejection email.  What I don’t understand is why she waited a month after to notify me? Why is it common to notify acceptances right away and rejections a long time after?  A decision has been made, so why not just let the people who were accepted and rejected know at the same time?

If you know me, I am a workaholic.   I feel like a wasted space now.  I want to do something.  It frustrates me that I am wasting my weeks away doing absolutely nothing to benefit myself or society.  On the other hand, I need to relax.

2) I’ve been eating a lot of junk food.  I ate donuts, chips, pizzas, hamburgers, french fries, fried chicken, and Chinese food.

I love food.  I am not going to deny that I enjoy eating junk food.  On the other hand, I need to eat healthier so that I don’t develop diseases and complications and live a poor quality of life.

Clearly, what I need is not what I want.  I am not saying that it’s bad to do what you want.  Sometimes we just need to take a step back and think if this is what we need or want.  Excess in either the need or want option is bad.  Moderation is key!  Feel free to comment and share your need vs. want dilemma.

If any of you readers have any school-related or life-related questions, please let me know!

Until next time, make good choices and live a healthy lifestyle.

Catherine D.

Leave a Reply

