Building Rapport

Dear Readers,

I hope you all have been doing well.  I am working (well, actually I’m interning) full time.  If you all are still wondering, yes, my feet still hurt the end of the day.  Other than the weekends and evening hours, I do not have much free time.  Nevertheless, I am learning a lot, so I don’t mind the long hours.

Something I’ve learned these past couple of weeks is that nobody wants to be unnoticed or unappreciated.  Let’s just say I know this, because I experienced it.  A simple thank you, expression of gratitude or compliment, hello, and goodbye goes a long way to making a person feel good.  I don’t know why, but the statement “people like hearing their names” is true.  For me, at least.  “Hi Catherine,” “Bye Catherine,” and “Thanks Catherine.”  The insertion of the person’s name adds a personal touch.  I like it!  Bonus points for remembering what the person said and asking about it or referring back to it in a current conversation!  Maybe it’s just me?  I am a very observant person.  I take notice of and remember what others say.  I know the awkward feeling of saying something you think is super awesome or of great importance to you and the other person does not responds with anything or responds with a one word response.  Empathize!  I can’t stress that enough.  It sucks to pour your heart out about a problem to someone only for that someone to be apathetic and not say much or anything.  Remember!  Don’t empathize to the point that you talk way too much about yourself.  Refocus the conversion back to the person you are conversing with.

If any of you readers have any school-related or life-related questions, please let me know!

Until next time, make good choices and live a healthy lifestyle.

Catherine D.

Leave a Reply

