Our Choice

Dear Readers,

We have a choice.  Who and what we make time for is dependent on us.  We can text back right away or not or not at all.  Unfortunately, I have been on the end that don’t get a text back for a long time or not at all. I have two stories to share to you all!

Story #1: Do I matter? When a person gets back to me 3-4 days after the invite and event telling me that he/she have plans set to look for apartment, he/she obviously planned this after I sent him/her the invite.  If this person had texted me back the day I sent out the invite, I would have been somewhat okay with that excuse.  However, I would have wondered why he/she couldn’t stop by a little bit or go apartment hunting a little earlier/later.  Even if he/she had a legitimate excuse, if I mattered, a simple “I wish you have fun.” or “Let me make it up to you. Let’s hang some other day.”

Story #2: I used to have a friend who I vent to about practically all the problems in my life.  This past year I’ve text her a lot, but she rarely text me back.  Maybe she’s busy and going through something?  This does not seem to be the case.  She text me back when she was curious about something I said relating to my (lack of) love life.  It makes me wonder if she cares about my actual problems.  Even if she is busy, a simple text back like “Hey, a lot is going right now. Just because I don’t respond doesn’t mean I don’t read your texts.” would be nice.

I will probably not text them or send an invite to them for a long time. What do you all think? Am I harsh?  I hate celebrating birthdays. It’s just a reminder that I am a year older.  Since I’m away from home and it’s an excuse to get together with some colleagues, I made an exception this year but celebrate it early so they don’t know the actual day. If I matter to the people from story #1 and #2, I would have heard from both in a timely matter regarding a once in a year occasion.

For all you curious readers out there, I will share about my (lack of) love stories in my next post.  If any of you readers have any school-related or life-related questions, please let me know!

Until next time, make good choices and live a healthy lifestyle.

Catherine D

 

Leave a Reply

