I Like You

Dear Readers,

“I like you” are three of the hardest words to say, because there’s a possibility that the person does not feel the same way and then things will be awkward between the two parties.

No one has ever come up to me and utter those words.  However, there was this one guy who took every opportunity to talk and be close to me.  He made it apparent that he liked me.  My peers could tell.  They teased me about it.  I was repulsed by his lack of work ethic.  I kept pushing him away.  From what I heard, he has a history of being flirtatious.  I wasn’t special.

How can you tell if someone “likes” you if he isn’t flirtatious?

I’m bad at reading people. There is this guy who started saying hi to me every chance he sees me.   I had a crush on him at first because how friendly he was with everyone around him.  My crush for him wore off after realizing how laid back and easy going he was. Shortly after I told my friend that I didn’t have a crush on him anymore, he was in a relationship.  He was probably tired of pursuing me (maybe it’s all in my head? haha).  I made it clear I didn’t like him that way by mingling with other people and walking a different path when I could have easily walked the same path as him that one day.

There is another guy who sat almost directly across from me, but he didn’t utter one word to me except to make sure I had my utensils. I have a crush on him, but I don’t know if he had a crush on me too.  I randomly saw him at the airport.  At first, I didn’t recognize him, so I didn’t say anything.  We crossed paths a couple times, and I knew for sure it was him.  That was a good excuse for me to text him to see if it was him.  Unfortunately, he said he didn’t see me.  If he liked me, he would’ve noticed me.  I could have sworn our eyes met a couple times!  It would have been messed up if he did see me and didn’t say hi though. Maybe that’s why he said he didn’t see me? Over the course of one month I randomly texted him a couple times to engage in small talk.  I don’t think I’ll text him again. What do you all think I should do?  I don’t want to be like that guy from the first story.  I am not as bold as Anna Akana.  I don’t pursue my crushes.  Besides, I’m not ready for a relationship. I’m still figuring out what I am going to do post-grad.

If any of you readers have any school-related or life-related questions, please let me know!

Until next time, make good choices and live a healthy lifestyle.

Catherine D

Leave a Reply

